The Exorcist- A Review and Recommendation

It’s no secret that I love horror movies 🙂  One of my favorites is The Exorcist, so when I saw they were making a tv show I was both excited and quite wary. But, I had nothing to worry about- the show is amazing. And after the twist they threw in this past Friday (in Chapter 5), I’m excited to see where they take it.

excorcist_fox_title_card

WARNING: SOME SPOILERS AHEAD!

*****

14292341_1164313170301706_7227990069282504484_n

Geena Davis is one of my favorite actresses, and has been since I was a kid. She is stellar as Angela Rance. I expected no less from her, and I suspect after the character twist that she’s going to shine brighter in this role as the show goes on.

the-exorcist-alan-ruck

 

I’ve been a fan of Alan Ruck since I saw him in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. He plays the role of Henry Rance (Angela’s husband), and his character has had a bit of rough go of it since his accident, which left him with mental issues due to a head injury. Henry is an interesting character who has some mysterious touches, and I’m interested in seeing where the show takes his character.

mv5bmtgwmjq1mjq0mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwntewotm3ote-_v1_sy1000_sx1500_al_

Kat, played by Brianne Howey, is the older Rance sister. She’s healing from a car accident that not only took someone close to her, but also her ability to dance (at least for the time being). She’s…a frustrating character for me 🙂 I feel for her, and what she’s lost, but she’s also unwilling to see what’s truly happening until it’s too late. I really wanted to slap her in the last episode. However,  I am curious as to where her character will go now that the shit has officially hit the fan.

mv5bmtg5otixmzg5nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjewotm3ote-_v1_sy1000_sx1500_al_

Casey Rance, played by Hannah Kasulka. Poor Casey. The younger Rance sister is…not doing so hot (understatement, I know 🙂 ). You can really feel her struggling to keep fighting, and the events of the Chapter 5 really hit me in the feels. And now that the twist has happened, her character’s importance is made much clearer. But the full picture isn’t known yet, and I can’t wait to follow her storyline further into the dark.

cvorl0cuiaedwmm

Ben Daniels is perfect as Father Marcus. The moment he first appeared in the show I knew he’d be a favorite. His character’s story is compelling, and he’s just…awesome. Okay? He’s wicked and awesome, and I’m not afraid to admit that I love Father Marcus. I may go to Hell for that…though, he was excommunicated, so I think I’ll be okay LOL

exorcist-tv-show-review

Father Tomas, played by Alfonso Herrera. Oh, Father Tomas. He’s…a bit off course, to say the least. He’s a compelling character. Tomas has a lot weighing on him, especially after Chapter 5, but following his journey has been one of the best parts of the show. From when Angela first comes to him in Chapter 1, to what happens in Chapter 5, his story has moved drastically. It will be interesting to see how his role will change starting in Chapter 6, and how he’ll handle what Angela confesses to him in Chapter 5.

mv5bmtyzmza2mdc3nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjg2ndgzmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr0014961000_al_

Kurt Egyiawan plays Father Bennett, who we first meet in Chapter 1, and Marcus pulls a gun on him 🙂 While we’ve not seen too much of him as of yet, I’ve seen enough to intrigue me. I want to know his story, what his role is, even if he is a bit of a…pain 😉 

mv5bnjaxntq4nju5nv5bml5banbnxkftztgwotkzotizmdi-_v1_sx1777_cr001777963_al_

One of my favorite characters outside of the main ones is Mother Bernadette (played by Deanna Dunagan). I really hope we see her again, because she is AWESOME!!!

*****

I can see how some fans of the movie and book would have a hard time liking the show. I was wary, and knew I’d have to tune out some of what I loved about the book and movie in order to truly enjoy the show. This is not a remake, and that was made clear before the first episode even aired. I would’ve continued watching even if the twist hadn’t come in Chapter 5, but with that twist, everything changed in the best way possible. I squealed- literally, I squealed, and nearly jumped off the couch in excited and shock.

Each episode is better than the last, and as the tension is notched up, I find myself wishing Friday would hurry up and get here so I can find out what happens next.

I highly recommend giving this show a try if you love horror and suspense. It’s well worth your time 🙂

9767bbc0c878799651cc1e9c66d85c9f mv5bmtk3ntaxotczm15bml5banbnxkftztgwota0otizmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr0012471000_al_ ctp8o8hxgaam7y

Leave a Reply

