Fantasy Friday: Dru Pagliassotti

Welcome to another Fantasy Friday!

Once upon a time, there was a wonderful publisher called Juno Books. They published some of my favorite books for several years. Then, they became part of Pocket Books and some of those wonderful series were discontinued. One of the books I absolutely adored was Dru Pagliassotti’s Clockwork Heart. I was very happy to see that the series continued with another publisher, though I haven’t gotten the chance to read the two sequels yet- they are in the TBR pile 🙂

click the covers to go to Amazon

ch

BLURB:

Taya soars over Ondinium on metal wings. She is an icarus — a courier privileged to travel freely across the city’s sectors and mingle indiscriminately among its castes. But even she can’t outfly the web of terrorism, loyalty, murder, and intrigue that snares her after a daring mid-air rescue. Taya finds herself entangled with the Forlore brothers, scions of an upperclass family: handsome, brilliant Alister, who sits on the governing council and writes programs for the Great Engine; and awkward, sharp-tongued Cristof, who has exiled himself from his caste and repairs clocks in Ondinium’s lowest sector. Both hide dangerous secrets, in this city that beats to the ticking of a clockwork heart…

Taya immediately grabbed hold of me and I couldn’t stop reading her story.  I read this book in about three hours- that’s close to a record for me! The images conjured through the words are vivid, so much so that I could feel, smell, taste, and touch everything Taya could. Everything from the society she lives in, to what comes with being an icarus, to the romantic touches were fasinating and well thoughtout. The mystery was solid, and played out perfectly- I never found myself rolling my eyes or saying “this was too obvious and easy”.

I loved the world Taya lives in. It feels very raw and real, and the author does an excellent job of showing the reader the world instead of telling the reader what they should be seeing and sensing. I can’t wait to read the next two books!

CLMedium CSMedium

Overall, I would recommend this for those who love fantasy, steampunk, mystery, and romance. Pagliassotti’s writing cast a spell on me, and I think it will do the same to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

