Series Saturday

Welcome to another installment of Series Saturdays! Today I’ll be talking about the Ghost Hunter Mysteries by Victoria Laurie, which stars M.J. Holliday 🙂



M.J. is a medium. Along with her partner, the ever over-the-top but lovable Gilley, they help the dead move on and help their clients deal with their hauntings. The first book, What’s A Ghoul To Do?, is a nice introduction to the characters and their world without bogging the story down with too much descriptions and info-dumps. I immediately fell in love with M.J., which helps when the story is told from her point of view 🙂 We’re introduced to Steven Sable in this book, as both a client and a love interest for M.J..

click on the book covers to go to their Amazon pages


The next book, Demons Are A Ghoul’s Best Friend, introduces us to the spirit of Hatchett Jack ~ a dark spirit loose on the grounds of a boarding school. The third book, Ghouls Just Haunt To Have Fun, has M.J. appearing on a television show, where she encounters an evil knife (which plays into the last book of the series) that unleashes a demon. We are also introduced to Heath, another medium.


The fourth book, Ghouls Gone Wild, finds M.J., Gilley, Heath, and the crew of their new television show, Ghoul Getters, in Scotland battling a witch wrath. This is also the book where M.J. and Steven’s relationship ends and Heath’s and M.J.’s begins. This transition felt very natural and I quickly fell in love with the pairing. Also in this book, we see just how much Gilley fears the dead. The fifth book, Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls, finds our crew of ghost hunters in Ireland, where they encounter a resident phantom that tests their abilities. Gilley meets the soon-to-be love of his life, Michael, in this book. The pairing is wonderful 🙂


The sixth book, Ghoul Interrupted, finds M.J. and crew rushing to New Mexico, where there’s a demon waging tribal warfare and trying to wipe out Sam Whitefeather’s (Heath’s grandfather and M.J.’s spirit guide) bloodline. This was a great book ~ I loved seeing Heath’s family, as well as seeing how Laurie incorporated his Native American heritage. The seventh book, What A Ghoul Wants, sends our crew to northern Wales and on the hunt to find the a nasty spirit called the Grim Widow, who drowns her victims in the castle’s moat.


The eighth book, The Ghoul Next Door,  has our team on a well deserved hiatus back home in Boston. But that break doesn’t last long: M.J.’s ex, Steven, comes to her for help. His fiancée’s brother is being haunted by a sinister ghost. This story is one of the darkest of the series, and really tests the characters and their abilities. The ninth book, No Ghoul’s Allowed, takes M.J., Heath, and Gilley to M.J’s and Gilley’s hometown in Georgia to see her father and his fiancée, Christine. They end up investigating a home that Christine bought and is having renovated. This book…was hard to read. It not only deals with a very chilling spirit, but also with M.J.’s deceased mother and the ties she had to the haunted plantation. I cried reading parts of this book. I mean, I truly cried. My heart just broke for our heroine. Laurie certainly brought her A-game to this installment.



The tenth and final book, A Ghoul’s Guide to Love and Murder, has M.J., Heath (who were on vacation…where they got married!), and Gilley (who is planning his wedding to Michael) back in Boston for the premiere of the Ghoul Getters movie. The studio is sponsoring a museum exhibit of some artifacts from their hunts. One of those artifacts is the evil knife, that contains the demon Oruc (from book three), which is loaned to the museum by Gilley, who thought he’d put up every guard for protection he could around the knife. But the knife is stolen, and all hell break’s loose because of it. Now, the three must battle unleashed ghosts and demons of the past (literally, we see haunts for previous books) and find the knife before it’s too late.


What I loved most about this series is the character growth and that each book became darker than the one before it. The tension was perfect, the light, loving moments were wonderful, and the humor was well placed and well timed. There were times when I actually feared for the crew, their mental and physical well being. I cried, laughed, felt their emotions…all of it. Victoria Laurie is a great storyteller. One who knows how to pull her audience in and keep them their until the last word of the book.

I’m sad that this series had ended, but I plan on many rereads 🙂 I highly recommend giving this series a shot if you like cozy mysteries, dark mysteries (for later in the series) with vibrant characters and a dash of romance.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.